Requirement in Oklahoma:
We recommend getting this
legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your
Since requirements any vary as each county in Oklahoma could have their
own requirements, we recommend that you contact the County Clerk of the
county where you plan on getting married.
Residency Requirement in Oklahoma:
You do not
have to be a resident of Oklahoma.
Drivers License or certified birth certificate or passport and his or her
Social Security number.
Your divorce must be final. However, you may not get married for a period
of six months after the divorce decree is filed. Having the divorce decree
with you is a good idea.
Covenant Marriage Option:
Waiting Period in Oklahoma:
There is no waiting period in Oklahoma unless you are a minor.
Fees in Oklahoma:
will cost you between $25 - $50 to get married in Oklahoma. The charge
varies from county to county - cash or money order only. Some counties
will accept a local check.
Couples who take a premarital counseling course "conducted by a health
professional or an official representative of a religious institution"
will be charged only $5 for a marriage license.
Check with the Court Clerk to make sure the course facilitator has been
approved by the county.
of November 1, 2004, you will not need to have a blood test.
Proxy Marriages in Oklahoma:
parties must be present.
Cousin Marriages in Oklahoma:
Common Law Marriages in Oklahoma:
No. However, your
common law marriage will be recognized in Oklahoma if it was created
before November 1, 1998. There is
in Oklahoma over this legislation and whether or not common law marriages
are valid in Oklahoma.
Same Sex Marriages in Oklahoma:
In November, 2004, voters passed a constitutional amendment banning same
Under 18 in Oklahoma:
Parents must appear at the courthouse with the couple to sign a consent
form. Minors must wait three days (72 hours) before the marriage license
A person who is under the age of 16 may not get married in Oklahoma
without a court order.
Officiants in Oklahoma:
Any ordained or
licensed clergymen, and justices of the peace. There is an additional $10
fee for having your wedding ceremony conducted by a judge.
Non-residential clergy need to register their ministerial
credentials with the Court Clerk of the county where the wedding is to be
license is good for 10 days and may be used anywhere in Oklahoma. It must
be returned to the Court Clerk for recording within five (5) days of use.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
These are filed at
State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above
information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal
It is important that you verify all information with the county court
clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.